IS LE Mana Regen Counterculture to its playerbase?

I’m relatively new to LE, and my highest level character is a level 70(ish) shaman. I have been exploring build options, including other class builds, and I noticed that mana regen is in incredibly short supply, but it was a center point of many builds. As an example, Sentinel had several builds that utilized the riposte skill for clunky mana generation. I explored LE’s position on mana regen and found that a year ago, EHG_Mitch on Reddit stated that LE has been “trying to keep mana as a limitation for skills” and the provided solution was “negative mana to give builds that use high cost skills some more flexibility at a cost.” I assume “negative mana” is the mana debt that occurs when you cast a spell that costs more than your mana pool.
I feel that the way the community is using mana is counter to how LE wants to present it as a limiter, and the mana debt function acts as a quasi-substitute to our mana needs/addiction. Builds struggle to find mana regen/generator options and end up being heavily similar to each other with almost the exact same answer for each build (either a single skill or item type per class [at least for sentinel and primalist]). I feel like the solution was going to be different energy types for each major class, but code budget limitations required that we ended up with this uniform energy format. While finding diverse ways to solve a manufactured issue can be very fun, mana regen in its current state seems to be counterculture to the playerbases’ playstyle with this issue (along with avoiding being irregularly oneshot) at the forefront of problems presented at the endgame.