Is a melee Harvest/Bone Curse Lich viable?

Hey everyone!

I just started playing a few weeks ago after months of following the game. Long time ARPG veteran here, so not new to the general concepts of the genre but still pretty fresh in Last Epoch. Currently I am trying to build a melee Lich with Harvest as my primary skill. I am level 47 and starting to run into big problems with survivability (some of the common monsters in the snow area can one shot me easily).

The skills I have slotted are: Harvest (passives for ward generation, crit, and damage), Reaper Form (passives for damage/crit and ward generation), Bone Curse (passives for necrotic damage conversion, kill threshold, apply on hit), Hungering Souls (passives for auto cast on being hit, increased damage, ward generation on kill), and Transplant (can’t do passives on this one yet, but the idea would be necrotic damage, fear, and any survivability/cooldown I can get).

My class passives are mostly all around necrotic damage, crit, and ward generation.

My protections/armor are sitting around 40-45% mitigation in most damage types.

My general playstyle is to try to stay in Reaper Form as much as possible, Harvesting and Reaping away after an initial Bone Curse. I use Transplant to get around or get out of AoEs.

I guess I don’t have any specific questions other than what am I doing wrong? Is this sort of build viable at the later levels? Is the Lich just this damn squishy?

Thanks in advance for any tips. This community seems fantastic from what I have seen.

EDIT: I should say that I am very happy with my damage, it’s mostly the survivability that’s an issue. If a pack has a lot of ranged monsters, I sometimes die almost instantly before I can even reach the pack. I have looked at other skills and their passives for defensive stuff, none of it feels like it synergizes well.

1 Like

Bone Curse works better with Rip Blood since both are spells so you can stack the same modifiers/affixes to buff both.

1 Like