Excited but concerned: Constructive feedback manifesto from Veteran Gamer

This post encapsulates nothing but my honest opinions regarding my experience with the pre-alpha version of this game and what I feel should be the direction this game should take for optimal success. I will continue to update this as I play the game.

Background on me: I’ve been a ARPG fan since the release of the first diablo, with diablo 2 being my all time favorite game. I’ve been playing diablo 2 for almost 18 years now which is astounding. This is just so you are aware of my biases.

I just happened to stumble upon this game reading the Grim Dawn steam forums and it lit a spark in me that I haven’t experienced since Path of Exile was first announced (I was part of the alpha/beta there as well surprise surprise). I constantly wrote feedback (Back when I had the luxury of all the extra time) and they ended up incorporating a lot of the feedback that I suggested, such as monsters having auras, special events where spiders would climb up the wall as a triggered event and the monkey’s climbing down the trees. Very attentive to feedback those devs were and Chris is an awesome guy.

That being said, lets get started.

• My very first initial reaction to entering the game was obviously most of the graphics/animations are placeholder so I won't comment on them as I'm sure these will be improved as the game continues its developmental cycle.

• I don't see the reason for the three difficulty settings from the get-go (normal - masochist). Everyone should start out on the same difficulty and the game should progressively get more difficult as you quest and get gear.

• I do like the hardcore option, all ARPG's should have a option to make their characters hardcore.