Defenses

Hey guys & gals.

I’m struggling to get a handle on what defenses to build. Having played a variety of chars i’m not trying to push my sentinel. Now, sentinel defenses are one thing, but then i see an elementalist build with ZerO elemental protection, but a million dodge, full GH/CA and i’m all confused.

What are we looking for defense wise for viable 200+ arena builds? I know that “get as much as you can” is a pretty neat mantra, but i would like some actual benchmarks to work with (if anything to know if i’m pushing in the right direction).

Regards,

I’m not an expert but i can give you some basic points i learned.

In this game it’s important to multilayer alot of different protections and not just focus on one, some defences that can be aplied to every character pretty much are glancing blow and critical strike avoidance, those basicly half your damage taken and prevent you from being crit, you can get glancing blow pretty easly with a set glancing blow prefix (the one that gives you glancing blow for every other item with this affix), you either need 4 T5 or 5 T4 to cap it, for critical strike avoidance use the suffix until you 100% it.

After that it depends on your build, it can either be ward (that kinda blows right now), alot of health if you have leech, normal protections, dodge or multiple of those. If you don’t really know what you’re doing i would recommend just getting protections to 40% and either extra dodge or extra health (also for dodge you wanna aim to get 10x your level in dodge to get 50%, after that it’s diminishing returns and you have to really focus on it).

Hope it helps, i don’t really push arena but these things should aply.

Thanks for your answer!

I’ve noticed that on my sent, CA is good, but getting 100% isn’t a must vs. GB (which is the only stat i’m completly sure about), mostly because i can get nearly 60% CA (?) with gear alone on my pala, and spec into more if I feel like that’s problem.